

1994: Mike Kiedrowski, Kawasaki (1-1)

1995: Doug Henry, Honda (1-3)

1996: Jeff Emig, Kawasaki (3-2)

1997: Damon Bradshaw, Honda (3-1)

1998: Ezra Lusk, Honda (2-1)

1999: Greg Albertyn, Suzuki (1-1)

STATUS QUO:

Hunter Lawrence once again

used a strong second moto to

win his third straight National

to start the season. His average

start in Moto 1 in eighth and first

in Moto 2, which has defined his

success thus far. He now has 4

career wins, which is good for

44th all-time. His 15th career

SMX victory also moves him

into 44th all-time. Guy Cooper,

Damon Huffman, John Dowd,

O'Mara await Lawrence on the

SMX list, tied for 40th all-time.

HISTORY LESSON:

40 SEASONS OF HISTORY:

The first 250 Class race at High Point Raceway was on May 29, 1983, when Mark Barnett swept the motos on a Suzuki. Johnny

O'Mara finished third and Jeff Ward finished fourth that day, but

both finished ahead of Barnett in the final point standings to keep

achieved in more than 50 years of Pro Motocross.

MANUFACTURER WINS

Overall Wins

(Years Won)

Kawasaki: 14

(1984, 1992, 1998-1999, 2003-2004, 2006,

2008-2011, 2014, 2016, 2019) Honda: 12

(1986-1991, 1994, 1997, 2007, 2012, 2017,

2022)

KTM: 4

(2000, 2005, 2013, 2015)

Suzuki: 4

(1983, 1985, 1995, 2001)

Yamaha: 4

(1993, 1996, 2002, 2018)

Moto Wins

(Last Moto Win)

Kawasaki: 25 (2020)

Honda: 23 (2022)

Yamaha: 10 (2021)

Suzuki: 9 (2001)

KTM: 8 (2015)

Husqvarna: 3 (2021)

1983: Mark Barnett, Suzuki (1-1)

1984: Jeff Ward, Kawasaki (1-1)

1985: Erik Kehoe, Suzuki (1-1)

1986: Micky Dymond, Honda (2-1)

1987: Micky Dymond, Honda (1-1)

1988: Guy Cooper, Honda (2-1)

1989: George Holland, Honda (3-1)

1990: Jean-Michel Bayle, Honda (1-1)

1991: Brian Swink, Honda (1-1)

1992: Mike LaRocco, Kawasaki (1-1)

1993: Jeff Emig, Yamaha (1-1)

1994: Doug Henry, Honda (1-5)

1995: Tim Ferry, Suzuki (2-2)

1996: Kevin Windham, Yamaha (4-1)

1997: Scott Sheak, Honda (1-1)

1998: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki (1-1)

1999: Ricky Carmichael, Kawasaki (1-1)

2000: Kelly Smith, KTM (1-4)

2001: Travis Pastrana, Suzuki (1-1)

2002: Chad Reed, Yamaha (1-1)

mx

44

112

109

00

98

00

00

00

00

00

Husqvarna de Husqvarna

DUNLOR Kawasaki

416

416

345

339

308

304

267

242

212

200

GEICO

MOTORCYCLE

peacock NBC

3

5

6

9

10

372

304

236

339

210

304

267

242

212

200

KLA

SUPERMOTOCROSS.COM

SEXTON COOPER

WEBB

TOMAC

ROCZEN

BARCIA

ANDERSON

JUSTIN

JUSTIN

HILL

DEAN

MONSTER

WILSON

8

9

10

PLESSINGER

CIANCIARULO

him from a fourth straight 250 Class title, a feat that has never been

High Point Raceway carries 2 separate timelines between the 250

venue, the 250 Class didn't show up in Mt. Morris until 1983. This season's High Point National will signify the 40th race at the famed

track for the smaller displacement. No 250 Class rider has captured

more than 2 wins at High Point, Additionally, High Point has been

the site of the first career win for an incredible 12 different riders.

Class and 450 Class. While the 450 Class started in 1977 at the

and Hunter's riding coach Johnny

250 STORYLINES

BEST STARTS:

Lawrence is off to one of the best

starts in 250 Class history by

winning the first 3 races of the

(1997) and Bob Hannah (1976)

season. He ties Ricky Carmichael

for the sixth-best start and would

tie for second-best start in class

history with a win at High Point.

Jett Lawrence won 4 in-a-row

to start last season in the 250

Class along with Carmichael in

Cianciarulo in 2019. In 1981,

Mark Barnett won the first 7

races, which is the record.

1999, Stewart in 2004, and Adam

250 CLASS

2017: Blake Baggett, KTM (1-2)

2018: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki (2-1)

2019: Eli Tomac, Kawasaki (3-2)

2021: Dylan Ferrandis, Yamaha (2-2)

2022: Eli Tomac, Yamaha (2-1)

THUNDER VALLEY RECAP

NOTES:

his career.

fourth start.

Levi Kitchen (3rd) grabbed his

first podium of the season and

which came at Thunder Valley.

Jo Shimoda (4th) scored his first

Chance Hymas (5th) earned both

his first career top-5 and top-10

finish at Thunder Valley in just his

Joel Rizzi (20th) captured a

top-20 finish in his first career

Pro MX start. **Ashton Bloxom** (31st) and **Nicholas Inman** (35th) also made their debuts, while the sport's lone female, **Jordan Jarvis** (39th), raced Moto 2 as an alternate for her sixth career start.

top-5 of the season and 19th of

second of his career, both of

HOLDING HIS OWN:

Justin Cooper became the third

season. He has beaten Lawrence

in 2 of 6 motos thus far and sits

Cooper was the fastest qualifier,

different Moto 1 winner this

16-points behind him in the

standings. At Thunder Valley

won Moto 1, and overcame a

crash to finish fourth in Moto 2.

Cooper now has 33 podiums in

63 career starts and surpassed

Carmichael for sixth all-time. He

HIGH POINT FACTS

Two-wheel legend Travis Pastrana scored his first career moto

victory and went on to secure the title over Stephane Roncada

In 2001, Pastrana won at High Point for the first win of his title defense. However, a challenging end to the season left Pastrana on

The winner of the 250 Class at High Point has only won the title

in 12 of 39 seasons (31%), but the trend has picked up for 3 of

the last 4 seasons. The High Point winner failed to win the title

for 8 straight seasons from 2009 to 2017. In 92 combined races

between the 250cc, 450cc, 500cc divisions the winner at High Point

FIRST-TIME WINNERS

1985: Erik Kehoe, Suzuki

1986: Micky Dymond, Honda

1991: Brian Swink, Honda

1995: Tim Ferry, Suzuki

1997: Scott Sheak, Honda

2000: Kelly Smith, KTM

2002: Chad Reed, Yamaha

2005: Mike Alessi, KTM

2006: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki

2007: Josh Grant, Honda

2010: Tyla Rattray, Kawasaki

2021: Jalek Swoll, Husqvarna

2003: Mike Brown, Kawasaki (2-1)

2004: James Stewart, Kawasaki (1-1)

2005: Mike Alessi, KTM (1-2)

2006: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki (2-1)

2007: Josh Grant, Honda (1-3)

2008: Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki (1-1)

2009: Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki (1-1)

2010: Tyla Rattray, Kawasaki (2-2)

2011: Blake Baggett, Kawasaki (1-1)

2012: Eli Tomac, Honda (2-1)

2013: Marvin Musquin, KTM (2-1)

2014: Blake Baggett, Kawasaki (1-1)

2015: Marvin Musquin, KTM (1-1)

2016: Joey Savatgy, Kawasaki (4-1)

2017: Jeremy Martin, Honda (2-1)

2018: Aaron Plessinger, Yamaha (1-1)

2019: Adam Cianciarulo, Kawasaki (2-1)

2021: Jalek Swoll, Husqvarna (1-3)

2022: Jett Lawrence, Honda (2-1)

Track Map

224

186

168

156

223

159

119

181

75

149

SUPERMOTOCROSS.COM

HUNTER LAWRENCE

HAMPSHIRE

HAIDEN DEEGAN

KITCHEN

JORDON

SMITH

ANSTIE

ENZO LOPES

Morosporii

100%

SCHEANICH SCHEANICH SCHOOL STATE OF THE SCHOOL SCHOOL STATE OF THE SCHOOL SCHOOL STATE OF THE SCHOOL SCHOOL

SHIMODA

128 VIALLE

LAWRENCE

mx

137

94

110

88

00

58

68

00

95

00

361

280

278

244

223

217

187

181

170

149

the sidelines as Mike Brown won the 2001 title.

by just 2-points at the finale from Steel City, also in Pennsylvania.

victory at the 2000 High Point National, but finished 16-1 for sixth

overall. The next week Pastrana swept Southwick for his first career

is only 2 podiums away from

TP199 AND HIGH POINT:

CHAMPIONSHIP %:

250 MANUFACTURER & RACER WINS AT HIGH POINT

RACER WINS

Overall Wins

(Years Won)

1) Blake Baggett: 2

(2011, 2014)

1) Ricky Carmichael: 2

(1998-1999)

1) Micky Dymond: 2

(1986-1987)

1) Marvin Musquin: 2

(2013, 2015)

1) Ryan Villopoto: 2

(2006, 2008)

Moto Wins

1) Blake Baggett: 4

1) Ricky Carmichael: 4

3) Mike Brown: 3

3) Micky Dymond: 3

3) Jeff Emig: 3

3) Erik Kehoe: 3

3) Marvin Musquin: 3

3) Travis Pastrana: 3

3) Christophe Pourcel: 3

3) Scott Sheak: 3

3) Ryan Villopoto: 3

PAST 250 WINNERS AT HIGH POINT (Moto Finishes)

has won the title 42 times (46%).

George Holland in fifth.